Author Topic: Beholder (First Full Mini Sculpt)  (Read 17971 times)

Offline TaleSpinner

Beholder (First Full Mini Sculpt)
« on: August 02, 2010, 02:07:19 PM BST GMT »
Well, after months of preparation and playing with putty, tool, and tutorials, I am finally taking the dive into sculpting.  I decided to do something with atypical anatomy for my first figure so that I can worry more about getting the details right than whether or not I've mastered the proportions of human/animal anatomy correctly.  I am studying anatomy from an art perspective, but am not quite ready to dive into a humanoid, yet...

So, I love beholders and have decided to do my own.  I thought I'd share this journey with you here, because I like to spread the pain around. :P Actually, I'm hoping to get good feed back as to what I am doing right and wrong.

So, I came up with the following concept sketch.  The beholder is floating by a stalagmite and is just brushing up against it.

I've assembled my armature already and should have pictures of that in a few days, as time permits.

Let me know what you think.

Thanks,

Andy

[attachment deleted by admin]
Some tales are best left for the light of day.

Offline dracon magis

• one off minis
Re: Beholder (First Full Mini Sculpt)
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2010, 11:24:32 PM BST GMT »
i want to see some sculpting but for te concept the eye is too small and the tentacles remind me of frylock the scales on the side look reversed. they should go towards the back of the creature or just not over-lap

Offline TaleSpinner

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2010, 12:31:59 AM BST GMT »
OK, so here is the armature, ready for me to start adding putty: