Author Topic: 3D or no?  (Read 2102 times)

Offline grogbro

3D or no?
« on: January 23, 2014, 03:51:04 PM GMT GMT »
I've been working on 28mm sculpts of my own minis. I am very new to it, but it's a lot of fun. I am a 3D artist and I've seen 3D printing really coming up in the world. I have been staying away from the 3D prints because how would they stand up to the mould process if there is heat involved to make the master moulds? I see a lot of artists making 3d prints for board game pieces etc, but what material do you have to have them produced at (say from Shapeways etc), for them to stand up to the mould process?

My idea was to finish my two minis and send them off to china to get them reproduced, unless I can find someone in the states or someone reasonable outside the states.

Thanks for any info!

Offline grogbro

Re: 3D or no?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2014, 02:59:16 PM GMT GMT »
I spoke to a few people on the shapeways forums and one of them suggested if I wanted to do a 3d sculpt to have shapeways print it out in steel or another metal, but it loses some detail. Not sure if this is how its done to make a master when doing 3d mini sculpts.

I do like holding my minis inhand though. I just cant seem to get the detail I want in them.

Offline Zack Cart

• Clay-Addict
  • Green Stuff+Sculpey=Yay!
    • Zack Cart - Custom Sculpting and Painting
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2014, 03:25:43 PM GMT GMT »
I have heard of people taking 3D prints, sending them to jewelers to have to very finely bronzed/silver-coated, and then being able to use them as a master for production. I couldn't say how much detail you lose to the bronze, but I would imagine it's comparable to a coat of paint. Worth looking into, anyway...

-Zack

Offline Badsmile

• Insomnia blackbelt
  • Digital and traditional sculpting.
    • putty down!
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2014, 11:00:01 AM GMT GMT »